2020 Times Square New Year’s Eve Drop Ball

NEW YORK, NY — As the world gets ready to celebrate the coming of a new decade, New York City officials expect millions of people to flock to Times Square to bring in 2020.

The annual Times Square ball drop is one of the world’s largest and most historic New Year’s celebrations. About 2 million people generally spend their New Year’s Eve cooped up in a spectator cage in Times Square, with millions more watching at home on T.V. No matter where you’ll be, Patch has you covered.

2020 Times Square New Year’s Eve Drop Ball Live TV

Here’s a guide covering everything you need to know about New York City’s official New Year’s 2020 celebrations in Times Square.

Getting to Times Square:

Don’t even think about driving to Times Square on New Year’s Eve. With road closures, a major security presence and nowhere to park, the best way to get to Times Square will be by public transportation — specifically the subway.

Because Times Square is such a popular destination it’s very easy to get to no matter where you’re coming from. The A, C, E, N, Q, R, W, 1, 2, 3, 7 and 42nd Street Shuttle lines all stop in Times Square. Additionally one could take the 4, 5, 6 or 7 train to Grand Central and transfer to the 42nd Street Shuttle.

How to get to Times Square from New Jersey:

  • If you’re taking New Jersey Transit to Penn Station catch the 2 or 3 train to Times Square 42nd Street.
  • If you’re taking New Jersey Transit t0 the Port Authority Bus Terminal you can walk from the bus station to Times Square.
  • If you’re taking the PATH to World Trade Center transfer to the A, C, E, 2 or 3 lines on the subway.
  • If you’re taking the PATH to 33rd Street transfer to the N, Q, R or W lines on the subway.

How to get to Times Square from Long Island:

  • If you’re taking the Long Island Railroad to Penn Station transfer to the A, C, E, 1, 2 or 3 lines on the subway.

Street closures:

Some street closures in the heart of Times Square will begin around 4 a.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 31 this year. Most of the streets that make up the celebration area will begin closing at 11 a.m., and depending on how large of a crowd fills into Times Square, the closures could extend from 34th to 59th streets.

All crosstown traffic will be closed between Sixth to Eighth avenues near the celebration zone. Trucks will not be permitted on these avenues all day Tuesday.

What to bring with you — and what not to bring:

If you’re going to get to Times Square early, you will be on your feet outside for a long time. In that case you should be wearing comfortable footwear and should bring warm clothing if it gets cold.

These items are not allowed inside Times Square on New Year’s Eve:

  • Umbrellas;
  • Backpacks and large bags;
  • Alcoholic beverages.

If you bring anything that’s not allowed police will not let you leave it for safekeeping at a security checkpoint.


The weather forecast looks promising for New Year’s revelers. Temperatures will hover in the lows 30s on Tuesday night, with no rain expected. It will be a cloudy night, according to the National Weather Service.

Broadcast information:

Several TV broadcasts will all be competing to show viewers the same exact thing from slightly different angles, so the choice really comes down to your preference of hosts and special performances.

Here are some of your main options:

  • Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve With Ryan Seacrest on ABC (8 p.m. start time). Performers incluse Post Malone, BTS, Sam Hunt and Alanis Morissette.
  • New Year’s Eve With Carson Daly and Julianne Hough on NBC (10 p.m. start time). Performers include Hough, X Ambassadors, Brett Eldredge, Leslie Odom Jr. and Gwen Stefani.
  • New Year’s Eve with Steve Harvey on FOX (8 p.m. start time). Co-hosts include Maria Menounos and Super Bowl Champion-turned broadcaster Rob Grownkowski. Performances by LL Cool J, The Village People (who will try to set a record for largest YMCA dance), The Chainsmokers, The Lumineers and The Backstreet Boys.
  • New Year’s Eve Live With Anderson Cooper And Andy Cohen on CNN (8 p.m. start time). CNN Anchors Brooke Baldwin and Don Lemon will take over the broadcast at 12:30 to cover the countdown in Nashville. Performers include Christina Aguilera, Lenny KravitzShania Twain, 50 Cent and The Chainsmokers.